A History of Backing Losers

I don’t talk politics to my seven year old, or to anyone much nowadays; mainly because I am afraid of the strength of my feelings. I’d hate to unnerve him, and I’d hate manifest differences of opinion to get in the way of tentative friendships, especially where his social life is concerned. But come election week, I was forced to. There was election-themed homework, and then his school, a polling station, was closed for the day. Some explanation was overdue.
That this was some kind of contest immediately sparked his interest; great, contests are fun, especially if you stand a good chance of winning. As boys this age go, he’s only moderately competitive, but he still likes to be on the winning side. When I said I’d be voting for the party that mainly champions the poor, that is, the one that always does best in areas populated by life’s losers, rather than life’s winners, I could see loyalty to me vying with his own natural instincts. Winners by definition are in the right, aren’t they?
This to me is the most convincing reason why voters, when undecided, opt under pressure for Tory rather than Labour. Even when they also suspect the Tories’ prime function is to protect those who already have most to lose, to ensure that their Establishment stays established, to which every other declared intention lies secondary; though not part of the Establishment by any stretch of the imagination they don’t see this as a reason for not voting Tory. The fact is, they are impressed by it; they work for it, they want to become, or their children to become, part of it. That’s the nature of “aspiration” after all; and they believe their best hope of achieving this is to share the winners’ approach to life in all things including in voting habits.
Wow, I could almost convince myself. But then I read something like this, a short story about West London’s live-in domestic service class, or see a play like this, about life on a minimum-wage zero-hours contract, I think, how can anyone vote for the state of affairs which positively encourages this real-existing dystopia?
But, my son and others of unsophisticated Tory instincts might counter; when we start to take on responsibility for the world’s unfortunates (compared to ourselves) when do we stop? After all, it’s not just here in London, is it? It is a global phenomenon – witness boatloads of desperate refugees in the Mediterranean; Nepal’s helplessness, the Syrian refugees . . . . FFS, the ones who make it to London and onto a zero-hours cleaning contract or illegal live-in service in a West London mansion are the lucky ones!
And that has a ring of truth too. In the global environment, we all of us here, the entire UK electorate, are the super-privileged ones. That’s largely why, I think, most of us end up voting to protect and defend what little we possess from the grasping and desperate hordes beyond.
As for my son, I’m happy to say, this time loyalty to me won out. He joined me in putting up the Labour poster in our window, reassured that at least around here “because there are loads of poor people,” there was little chance of our candidate losing her seat. “Fingers crossed,” he said.
And for his sake, I have braved the result with a levity I don’t feel. He shrugged it off; just one more sports day race, or summer fair raffle we didn’t win; maybe we’ll have better luck next time.

About marytuda

An accidental first time mum in her fifties reflects on all things maternal from position of perpetual outsider and prolonged state of shock. An urban odessy through parenthood plus from one who thought she'd never go there.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A History of Backing Losers

  1. squimple says:

    An interesting perspective, in a week of people wondering why other people vote as they do,

Leave a Reply

